Memorial Day


a view at Dover AFB Delaware

Originally uploaded by jayfherron

I was invited yesterday to a bar-b-que cook out type of gathering-it will be fun,thats what my inviting host was saying….fun!
One of my oldest friends…a combat veteran who saw action in Viet Nam-he and I are always saying the same thing each year as this ‘holiday’ shows up….this is Memorial Day where it strikes me funny that someone can say “Happy Memorial Day”??

Memorial Day is in consideration for these young people who are boxed up in a coffin and covered with a flag (who knows the condition each of the bodys,or if there is a full body…..) nothing in this scene warrents a greeting such as “Happy Memorial Day”!!

We have done a very sad thing in this country-all of us should bow our heads in saddness for what we are losing. When I was a teenager – every night during the evening news the network would show the casualties from that days loss and we would see-in order to pay respects-the young dead of the Viet Nam war returning home to military honors at Dover AFB in Delaware. That is where this photograph was taken and I wish I knew the name of the photographer who had the respect to honor these dead soldiers so I could thank him for keeping this part of war in view….our own country no longer seems to allow this for us-our battle dead are returning home un-noticed and without being given the respect this country owes them and the honor of allowing each family in America to pay respect to these lost sons and daughters.”Happy Memorial Day”.

When I was a kid growing up in the 1950’s and 60’s every Memorial Day the old veterans used to come out and be thicker than bell ringers during the crixmix season-they’d be handing out ‘poppy’s” to commemorate the battle at Flanders Field and there would be trips to the cemetery to place the flags on the graves of the lost in battle…today its just fried chicken and “have a Happy Memorial Day”

Whats really sad…none of these kids wanted to go to Iraq,what saddness for them to die-but by the way….”Happy Memorial Day”!!!
Hope you have the best cook out ever!

4 Responses to “Memorial Day”

  1. The Bagel of Everything Says:

    Thank you for writing this. It made me feel really really bad, but deservedly so.
    Memorial day is a touchy time for me. While I greatly appreciate the sacrifices our vets have made for all of us, I’m not comfortable visiting the cemetery. I am, however, comfortable eating bbq by the pool.
    My father was a ‘nam vet, driven mad by the memories, culminating in his suicide when I was 8. When I think of dead vets, I think of him, and want to turn over gravestones and spit rather than show these heroes their due respect. I have issues.
    Perhaps this year, inspired by you, I shall do a kindness for living vets. Those crippled by our wars are so often forgotten.

  2. jayherron Says:

    You made me cry!

  3. mydissonance Says:

    I’m writing to let you know that I’ve added a link to your blog onto the side bar of my own site. As a survivor I’m trying to reach out and connect with as many other survivors in the wordpress community as I can. My blog is fairly new so I thought adding links to other survivor blogs that I stumble across might be a good place to start. If for any reason you would like me to remove the link to your site please let me know. I can be reached at anistar@withdissonance.net. And if at anytime in the future you’d like to add a link to my site from any of your own pages that would be fine with me. Thanks so much.

    Hope Sent,
    ~ Ani

  4. Ani Says:

    Thank you so much for your kind words. If ever you need help with your site I can help you. If you send me the links that you would like to add onto your side bar I should be able to send you the HTML code. You will need to put in a text widget onto your side bar with the HTML coding and then that should do it. Again, thank you so much!

    Hope Sent,
    ~ Ani

Leave a Reply

