41 years




self portrait

Originally uploaded by jayfherron

41 years today!

17 Responses to “41 years”

  1. wayne Says:

    your in our prayers !

  2. Di Says:

    Thank you for sticking around 🙂

  3. Carolyn Says:

    Reading now your posts of May ’07, the art exhibit. Shands Hospital. Where is Shands? I know a Shands. I wish you had email – I hate making comment having nothing to do with a current post.
    As for brother, I’m just surmising…from telltale signs. I hope for a reply…at my email address.

  4. Joan Says:

    Jay;

    “What lies before us and what lies behind us are small matters compared to what lies within us”

    You are stronger than your past – you have shown this time and time again. Anniversaries are miserable! They bring all of the hurt and the pain back. However, the greatest victory is in survival! They didn’t break you and you have turned all of that sorrow and rage and pain into a life of helping others.

    Greater love hath no man than he lay down his life for a friend.

    That doesn’t mean that we have to die…it simply means that we have to serve. Your candid openness with your life has given others the opportunity to find healing and solace…it has also given us a friend and a brother.

    You have every right to close your heart and your doors and give in to the hurt and the rage – but you didn’t. You have chosen love. You have chosen to give even though it seemed that everything was taken from you.

    I hope that you will take a moment today to be selfish – to take an account of all of us you have helped. To make an account of the fact that you are a real man! A man of love and kindness and compassion. To remember that the worm filth that attacked you is nothing – they were dirty yellow cowards – and that they will be judged.

    Thank you for all that you do – Thank you for all that you are.

    You are loved and you are always in my prayers.

    Blessings and Peace!

    Joan

  5. Mike E Says:

    congratulations, above all, for not killing your self. i know sometimes it ain’t easy..

  6. Jerry Says:

    Sometimes we have to revisit the ghosts of our past to remind us where we are now. I’m very happy that you were able to marry and have a family after being abused and tortured in Barracks D. Your son sounds like a wonderful young man and you should be very proud of him. The holidays are over which is a relief to many. Peace brother. Jerry

    • jayherron Says:

      My marriage was a literal shotgun wedding with witnesses…I married a 15 year old girl who had a father that was not very happy with our being in the parent problem together,I was barely 20. Since we had no life with love together the marriage never stayed together,I raised my sons and another mans son on my own,the other lad also in the Navy. I have my youngest son just a mile up the road from me. He too is military serving in the coast guard reserve but also is a full time county sheriffs deputy! Fine guys…all three of them! peace

  7. BJ Says:

    Mike E, you’re not the only one who’s glad he didn’t kill himself. There have been times I thought he was leaning that way just from what he wrote, so much so, I wrote his son asking him to check on him and make sure everything was okay. He’s always been a favourite relative of mine, even though he can be frustrating at times, especially when he misinterprets what I say. Oh well, that’s just how it is. I know I’d be devastated if he ever tried to kill himself.

  8. BJ Says:

    Jerry – Both of his boys are exceptional men. They didn’t have it easy growing up, lived in poverty, had all kinds of hardships and have somehow overcome and become productive, successful adults. They’re good examples of how you can’t use your background to excuse bad behaviour in adult life as some folks will do when they get into trouble.

    • Jerry Says:

      In a perfect world, those that us who have suffered abuse would turn it around reach out to help others. Some people can’t and self destruct. I don’t think Jays personal suffrage would ever cause him to be a bad parent. He is also a great friend. JC

      • jayherron Says:

        When I became a single Dad I told my sons that I was a friend first and a father always! I have always contended that my sons and I raised each other! I know they grew up faster than I did…I’m still trying to grow up!

Leave a Reply

