the news regarding the class action


American flags

Originally uploaded by jayfherron

www.aolnews.com/2011/02/15/17-victims-sue-pentagon-over-plague-of-sexual-violence/

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “the news regarding the class action”

  1. Joan Says:

    I am surprised that they went forward with only 15 women and 2 men. I know that I was contacted and I have tons of evidence – but I have never heard from them again.

    Looking at DOD’s own stats – 1 in 4 women and 1 in 100 men…they have filed with a cross section that represents less than 100 members of the military. I don’t believe that will be enough to establish how much the military knows and how often they turn their heads.

    I wish them well – I really, really do.

    Joan

    • jayherron Says:

      I wish them well too,however I believe that more service would be done by getting onto the VA end of it,to help those more seriously and respectfully…plus the DoD needs to police itself better as laws are already in place to protect victims,the DoD should acknowledge that!

  2. Joan Says:

    I agree. It isn’t that we need MORE laws – we just need the laws that are in place to be ENFORCED. We need accountability. Right now it is too easy for a Commander to say, “we will just handle this at the unit level.” Ultimately, it does more damage to the survivors.

    I personally believe that any member of the chain-of-command that fails to act in accordance with UCMJ should be held accountable as an accessory after the fact. I think that if it came down to the wire that it was either my career or the perpetrators career – more leaders would chose to act responsibily. It really is as simple as documentation and referral to the appropriate agencies. Leadership documents and gets the victim help and the perpetrator is arrested and tried. All leaders in the military know how to document to CYA (cover your ass.) It isn’t that hard.

    I am worried about their suit, though. Losing could be the worst thing ever and give the military a free pass to continue as they are.

    Peace,

    Joan

  3. nancy S Says:

    Veterans For Peace is doing serious work on this, and will not give up when a few platitudes are givien by DOD. We KNOW how the system works and will continue to worry this bone. Right now the lawsuit is getting its 24 hours of news cycle, VFP members will push continuously.

  4. John Says:

    I am terribly sorry for everyone who is a victim. Hell, my story goes back to 1972. My friends knew, told me to report it but I was in some sort of denial or something. A traumatic shock if you will. A daze of confusion, fear, depression, anxiety, panic attacks…I used to hide in the woods for fear of being discover the one to blame of the assault. I would just watch my unit go right on by to field maneuvars, and there I was, just 17, scared to death and having NO idea as to how to heal.

    For 40 years now I have pretended to semper fi all who served but they just semper fied my ass right out of there. Pity, I so hoped for a 20 year career, my dad served 20 years, I hoped to, and the VA would not help one bit after I got out.

    I was told because I was a Reservists and had gone UA because of the event, that the incident never even happened, according to the VA psychologist. He was angry with me, said I was a disgrace, and should consider myself a pitiful shameful disgrace to Uncle Sam for reporting it to him. He angrily and bitterly told me he could not help me.

    That was the second walk of shame I had to deal with after my discharge.

    My VA claim for PTSD, MST, Sexual Assault, is only in its beginning stage of the 7th month now. Dont hear much just that they are processing as fast as they can. And all I asked for was so little, to be taken care of my mental health.

    I am so damn tired folks. I pray for all of you and Jay, you take good care of yourself buddy. I just needed to vent some. Sorry if I rambled on.

    Kindest Reagrds,
    John

  5. BJ Says:

    This week’s Air Force Times has an article about folks who are filing the lawsuit against the VA/DoD for their rapes. Their one major concern is to stop the “revictimizing” of those who were raped as well as to make certain those who commited the crimes are never permitted to get promoted and continue on military careers. One female victim was told to ‘respect her assailant’s rank’. Excuse me? It’s like “Jim”, a retired SMSgt told me at Wright-Patt about a supervisor he once had. As Jim told me, his boss said, “You don’t respect me, do you?” Jim replied, “I respect your rank, the uniform, and what it stands for, but I was never told I had to respect the person wearing it.” Respect is earned for the individual, and it is very hard to respect the position if you can’t respect the person in it. It doesn’t matter what the rapist’s rank is. Wrong is wrong. The higher the rank, the greater the culpability. Why should we care if that person loses it all? After all, the rapist knew it was wrong and chose to, by his (or her, but mostly his) actions to forfeit everything, and for what? This may sound cold-hearted, but I have no sympathy for rapists-only for their victims.

Leave a Reply

